Kazakhstan Reign Supreme at ATF 12&U Central Asia Regional Qualifying

Arunkumar Lakshmi Prabha causes first upset , as  Dhamne , Nandal lead  Four Indian boys into round two at MSLTA ITF Asian B1 Championships

Pune , September 19:   Unseeded Indian Girl  Arunkumar Lakshmi Prabha upset eighth seeded Lily Falrclough  of Australia as  Third seeded Yuvan Nandal and fifth seeded Manas Dhamne led four other Indian boys into the second round of the boys event at the MSLTA-PMDTA ITF Asian B1 Championships being organised by MSLTA PMDTA and played at the Deccan Gymkhana Courts in Pune.

In the first upset of the event Indian Girl, Arunkumar Lakshmi Prabha upset eighth seeded Lily Falrclough of Australia 6-7, 6-4, 6-4 in a close match to enter the girls second round singles.

In the other opening rounds, third ranked Yuvan Nandal  was given a fight by Poonthong Komopisut of Thailand before winning 6-4, 5-7, 6-3 in a close encounter. A 14-year-old and fifth seeded Manas Dhamne came through some anxious moments before stopping qualifier Iliyas Maratuly of Kazakhstan 6-3, 7-6(4).

In other matches featuring Indians, Daksh Prasad outplayed Wildcard Luke Koh of Singapore 6-1, 6-2, under 16 national champion Kriish Tyagi out rallied Shingo Masuda of Japan 6-3, 6-3, while Denim Yadav came back from loss of the first set to outlast Yerassyl Yerdilda of Kazakhstan 3-6, 6-1, 6-0. Rethin Pranav Senthil Kumar pulled off a 6-3,6-4 win against Siwanat Auytayakul of Thailand to make the last sixteen.

Fourth seed Woohyukuk Chang of Korea lost his plot midway but recovered to get better of Japanese Satoru Nakajima 6-0, 3-6, 6-4 in one of the close matches.

In the girls first round, fourth seeded Vaishnavi Adkar was the lone Indian winner as she outclassed  Vladislava Andreevskaya of Kyrgyzstan  6-1, 6-3

The tournament was inaugurated at the hands of Siddarth Shirole MLA Shivajinagar , Mr Namdev Shirgaonkar Sec MOA , Sunder Iyer Jt Sec AITA . Jt TD Ashwin Girme , PMDTA Sec Abhishek Tamhane  , Mihir Kelkar Finance Secretary Deccan Gymkhana , ITF Supervisor Vaishali Shekatkar were present on the occasion.

Following are the Results: First Round: Boys:

Hayden Jones (Aus) [1] beat (Q)Siddharth Marathe (Ind)  6-2, 6-4
Yuvan Nandal (Ind) [3] beat Poonthong Komopisut (Tha) 6-4, 5-7, 6-3
Woohyukuk Chang (Kor) [4] beat Satoru Nakajima (Jpn) 6-0, 3-6, 6-4

Manas Dhamne (Ind) [5] beat (Q)Iliyas Maratuly (Kaz) 6-3, 7-6(4)
Jeremy Zhang (Aus) [7] beat Rushil Khosla (Ind) 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-4
Reiya Hattori (JPN) [8] beat (WC)Aryan Lakshmanan (Ind) 6-3, 6-4
Rethin Pranav Senthil Kumar(Ind) beat Siwanat Auytayakul (Tha) 6-3, 6-4
Takamasa Mishiro (Jpn) beat (Q)Prajwal Tewari (Ind) 6-3, 6-4
Bushan Haobam (Ind) beat Vitaliy Zatsepin (Kaz) 6-3, 6-3
Daksh Prasad (Ind) beat (WC) Luke Koh (SGP) 6-1, 6-2
Kriish Tyagi (Ind) beat Shingo Masuda (Jpn) 6-3, 6-3
Denim Yadav (Ind) beat Yerassyl Yerdilda (Kaz) 3-6, 6-1, 6-0

First Round: Girls:
Sue Yan Tan (Sgp) beat Nandini Dixit (Ind) 6-2, 6-0
Yu-Yun Li (Tpe) [1] beat Asmi Adkar (Ind) 6-1, 6-3
Vaishnavi Adkar (Ind) [4] beat Vladislava Andreevskaya (Kgz) 6-1, 6-3
Shiho Tsujioka (Jpn) beat Madhurima Sawant (Ind) 6-0, 6-2
Arunkumar Lakshmi Prabha (Ind) beat Lily Falrclough (Aus) [8] (2)6-7, 6-4, 6-4

Comments are closed.


For fa-solidter login or register use your social account.

Connect with Facebook